Snapshot: Lynn Simoneau

Published: January 11, 2019 at 07:00 am


Education: My senior year of high school was difficult because that was the year I became disabled. I went to UConn, in Storrs, and started out majoring in pharmacology. I really liked the medical field and law enforcement, and I took every undergrad business law class I could. I ended up in the School of Business, in finance. In college, I was the manager for the women’s basketball team. Even though I couldn’t play anymore, I absorbed a tremendous amount from [Coach] Geno Auriemma after working so closely with him.

Family: I have two great parents, Richard and Kathleen. My dad is a chemical engineer and just recently retired, although he’s busier now than he was when he was working. I’m the oldest of four kids. My sister, Amy, is two years younger than me and lives in Bethel with her spouse, Dave, and their three kids; my brother, Greg, is seven years younger than me and lives close by; and my sister, Emily, who is eight years younger than I am, lives in North Carolina.

Pets: Zoey is our 4-year-old standard poodle. She’s the family pet, so we say that I get partial custody.

How long have you lived in Newtown? Since I was 5 years old. For a year or two, I lived in Ellington, and for five years I was at UConn in Storrs.

What do you like to do in your free time? I’ve really gotten into adaptive sports. This is my third year playing quad rugby. It’s a lot of fun. There’s only one team in Connecticut, the Connecticut Jammers, and we practice on a weekly basis in Farmington. We do tournaments that are two days long and can be anywhere from New Hampshire to Philadelphia. I also like skiing, handcycling, and doing 5Ks. I’m on the Board of Directors for LOF adaptive waterskiing and snow skiing. I also run a spinal cord injury support group called Danbury SCI on Facebook. The group has been running for over a year, but a friend of mine and I went to work more than five years ago — we wrote a charter, code of conduct, made a logo. We help people find resources and give people positive support and encouragement.

Do you have a favorite book? I’m always drawn to mysteries, true crime, and medical books.

What is your favorite travel destination? I would love to go to Ireland. My maternal grandfather is from Ireland from the Mcnamara line. I remember my grandparents took a trip there, and my grandfather talked about it all the time. It sounded magical. Until then, occasional trips to Florida suffice.

What is the best part about Newtown? There are so many great things — not just good things — great things. I can’t pick just one; it’s the people, their generosity and support, the history of the town. I’ve always loved living here.

Who has been the greatest influence in your life? God has always been the main one. He always works it so that if I’m going through something rough, there is always someone there to help me through it.

If you could spend the day with one person, who would you choose and why? Jesus. For someone non-celestial, I’d say my brother or granddad.

What is your favorite musical genre? Definitely country. I’m into Carrie Underwood right now, and I also like Keith Urban. I also like other genres and artists, like Lady Gaga.

Do you have a favorite TV show? Law & Order: SVU.

What is the greatest piece of advice you have ever been given? I’ve had a tremendous amount of mentors and people who have encouraged me along the way. They’ve ended up giving me an education about myself that I didn’t realize was there — everyone from family, friends, and college professors.

What is something you cannot live without? My faith and the faith that others have in me.

What is your proudest accomplishment? Living at the level that I am, given what I’ve been through. A lot of people call me stubborn because I just don’t give up.

Change Text Size:

This Week's Poll

What is your favorite ice cream flavor?